top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThor Jeppesen

Recording Reality.


Many words come to mind when I think about my experience recording vocals for my seven song album. Words like “fun”, “difficult”, “funny”, “seriously?”... I recorded everything in my studio, which is inside my house. Recording vocals requires a lot of exploring, sometimes loud singing, all to find cool harmonies and to enhance certain parts that require higher notes to add more intensity ​and power. Having a two-year-old and a one-year-old in the house made this experience somewhat challenging. For my song “Good God”, I ended up recording vocals in my garage while our babies were napping. It was the only place in the house that would allow me to be as loud as I needed without waking up the girls. I discovered that it has an interesting natural echo/reverb which worked very nicely for “Good God”. Most of the time I like recording vocals and playing guitar at the same time next to my studio desk. This time something different happened, without being planned. Somehow sleeping babies inspired a unique sound for “Good God”. I just had to keep everyone away from using hot water so the water heater wouldn’t turn on, the noise it makes isn’t very musical. Thankfully, it was December so the usual Arizona heat wasn’t a problem, neither the microphone or I melted in the process. Using the garage was something unique for that song, I can’t wait to try it again in the future for another one.

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page